Day 48 – Yeah, I’m Linsane, Too

I drove 7 hours today for work. Had dinner with my college roomie and husband (both of whom were part of our college Christian fellowship). Sweet time. Came back to hotel with travelling companion (dear daughter), sat down to relax, then remembered: THE BLOG. THE BIBLE. AUGH.

Well, I did some research on Marcy’s issue (in the comments here) which I think I have a potential answer for, but need to look at more when I return home so no reply yet.

Then I got caught up in the Knicks-Saints game (Lin’s winning streak ended). Like everyone else, I have become Linsane. It’s because Jeremy Lin and I have so much in common. He’s Chinese. My daughter is Chinese. He went to college at an Ivy League school. I went go grad school at one. He lived in the Bay Area and NYC. I lived in the Bay Area and NYC.  He’s a nerd. I’m a nerd. We both went to churches named Redeemer. He’s tall. I’m tall.  He’s a basketball phenom. I attended a lot of basketball games during college (an ACC school…). I wonder if he has poodles?

Anyway, as I was being very holy and reading my Bible.  I mean, as I was surfing a couple articles on Jeremy Lin instead of reading my Bible, I noticed that he gave an exclusive interview with the San Jose Mercury on the condition that questions be limited to issues of his spirituality. What? WOW! The thought of that brought tears to my eyes. (Read on and I’ll give you the link…)

Then I turned to weightier matters, like all the sin offerings in Leviticus. I really do want to focus on a Levitical passage sometime soon.

But not tonight.

No, the great commission caught my attention.

After his resurrection and before his ascension, Jesus said to the disciples:

All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me.  Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.  Matthew 28: 18b-20 NSV

I realized as I read this passage that Jeremy Lin was doing exactly what Jesus commanded when he granted this interview.

May God protect Jeremy and continue to open doors for him to make disciples.

Readings:  Leviticus 5:1-6:30, Psalm 24:1-6, Proverbs 9:7-9, Matthew 28:1-20. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

Leave a Reply

