Day 38 – Meditations on Errors and Rocks

Eric Metaxas (author of bestselling Bonhoeffer) spoke at the National Prayer Breakfast last week. I just listened to the speech with my husband. We laughed and we cried as we heard this great combination of humor and truth. Listen to it, starting at 35 minutes, 45 seconds in this CSPAN video.

Speaking of truth, the balance of Psalm 19 praises God’s law. I’ve already written about portions of the Psalm here.

Today, two verses jumped out at me:

Who can discern his [own] errors?
Declare me innocent from hidden faults. (vs. 12, ESV)

and

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
be acceptable in your sight,
O LORD, my rock and my redeemer. (vs. 14, ESV)

Hidden Errors

Yesterday, I prayed for God to reveal hidden faults that may keep me from hiding under his wings, drawing close to Him. It’s SO TRUE that we are pretty incapable of seeing our own errors, er sins.

We need help from others – kind friends who know how to show us our sin while assuring us of their love. One reason that counselors are effective? We are ready to hear them tell us (by virtue of having paid a fee and showing up) what’s pretty obvious to anyone looking on, that is, anyone but us.

We need help from God. That’s why this verse is in the middle of a Psalm about the Scripture, God’s Word – His commands, laws, rules. It is as we read the Bible that the Holy Spirit points out sins that we cannot see. The living Word is, after all, sharper than any two edged sword, able to pierce and judge the thoughts and attitudes of the heart (Hebrews 4:12). [And this is one reason I am blogging on the Bible every day.]

It’s a good thing God declares me innocent of sins I cannot see!

My Rock and My Redeemer

I just like that last verse. It’s part of liturgy I’ve repeated often in higher churches. It’s beautiful sounding. Oh, and it says something good, too.

I KNOW my words are often not acceptable. I KNOW I rarely stop to think about God as unkind or hateful words fly out of my mouth. And I don’t even want to go to what my heart dwells on.

Jesus is not just a shepherd and a mother hen. He is a rock and a redeemer.

I am innocent of unseen sins, inappropriate words, and unaccetable thoughts because of the cross where Jesus’ blood ensured my pardon and my redemption.

What does it mean that Jesus is my rock, though? He’s safe. A refuge. A fortress. Deliverer (see Psalm 18: 2). Dependable. He’s a stumbling rock, a cornerstone. All those things.

But how is He MY rock?

Although I don’t “feel” it all the time, I think I know deep down that Jesus is holding down the fort as the storms of life swirl about. He’s got it covered even when it seems He doesn’t. He’s protecting even when I feel exposed. At some level, I sense there’s calm at the center of my soul because of the rock.

The rock hasn’t hung up. He’s just waiting. And you can’t move a rock when it decides to wait.

Readings:  Exodus 25:1-26:37, Psalm 19:7-14, Proverbs 6:32-35, Matthew 24:1-35. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

Leave a Reply

