Day 32 – You Can Move a Mountain!

My husband and I once visited a church (out of curiosity), well-known at the time for the Holy Spirit’s alleged activity. We walked out midway through the sermon when the speaker said that if you aren’t being healed, then you don’t have enough faith when you ask.

Maybe that guy read Matthew 21:21-22:

Jesus replied, “Truly I tell you, if you have faith and do not doubt, … you can say to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and it will be done. If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.” (NIV)

Oops.

Jesus said that?

This is one of those hard sayings (Marcy). And since we have a guest at our home, I don’t have time to tackle the other hard part of the passage (where Jesus withers a fig tree with his words because it bears no fruit).

Anyway, I guess I don’t have enough faith because I’ve asked for a lot less than a mountain moved, and nada.

So, was Jesus lying? Here’s where I check out other Scripture, namely John 14:13-14:

And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it. (NIV)

There’s the caveat.

God will move a mountain, AS LONG as it’s in His name.

Which means?

Praying in keeping with God’s character, his will, and in the authority of Jesus (according to the experts).

Which means?

That if God wanted to give me what I have prayed for (and believe he can do), He would.

And since He hasn’t, it’s not His will.

But I know from this last month of blogging (well I knew it before, but it’s been brought home) that Jesus feels compassion towards this harried and helpless sheep – and he’s serving me, too, doing what’s best to care for me even though it doesn’t always seem so.

Readings:  Exodus 13:1-14:31, Psalm 18:7-19, Proverbs 6:6-11, Matthew 21:1-22. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

2 thoughts on “Day 32 – You Can Move a Mountain!

  1. The fig tree one makes a little more sense when you understand the fig tree as symbolic of Israel… and actually, the mountain may well refer to the Temple Mount, and not just any old mountain… I wish I could find the blog post I read a while back that dealt with this issue.

    • I’ve heard that about the fig tree. But one of my study Bibles said that “moving a mountain was a common metaphor in Jewish literature for doing what was seemingly impossible” (ESV Study Bible which then quotes 5 Scriptures to prove the point). That makes more sense to me then the Temple Mount idea. Jesus uses the same phrase in 17:20 and there is no mention of the Temple in that passage.

Leave a Reply

