Day 28 – How to Live a Holy Life

I emailed a friend yesterday and said, “I wish I knew how to be under these circumstances!”

Then I read the last half of Psalm 16 (in the New Century Version, the one I’m reading from daily) and it addressed my need directly:

You will teach me how to live a holy life.
Being with you will fill me with joy;
at your right hand I will find pleasure forever. Psalm 16:11

I usually prefer to quote from some of the more direct translations like NIV or ESV, not the paraphrases.

But “You make known to me the path of life” (NIV) just didn’t address my need like “You will teach me how to live a holy life.” (But the Path of Life photo at right works for me)

I don’t know how to do this life. I don’t know how to be in these circumstances.

And I especially don’t know what should or should not come out of my mouth!

But God does. And the Psalmist claims the promise that God makes other places in Scripture: He will teach me how to do, how to be, how to talk.

What a comfort.

Especially after I read Matthew 18:21-35 where Jesus tells us to forgive 70×7 because He forgave us at infinite cost to Himself.

But just how do you forgive when the forgiven continues to cause pain? What does love call for in this instance? (And how do I better see my own sin and recognize my own unmerited forgiveness?)

In other words, what would Jesus do?? And how would Jesus be (and feel) and speak??

The end of the passage also touched me. It reminds me of my post a couple days back, about how in the new Jerusalem, we will bask in the light of the Lamb’s countenance forever. Jesus will fill us with joy and in Him we will find pleasure forever.

Oh, for more a taste of that now. Not for the taste itself (that would be “experience” idolatry), but for a more intimate relationship with Jesus.

I believe more intimacy is on its way. It’s sort of a chicken and egg thing. I think in some way, I’ll repent, draw closer to Jesus and learn to live this Holy life in a new way, forgiving 70×7 and all the rest… all at the same time.

Psalm 16 gives me hope.

Readings: Exodus 5:1-6:30, Psalm 16:7-11, Proverbs 5:7-14, Matthew 18:21-35. See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

Leave a Reply

