Day 19 – What’s in a Name?

Since I read today’s passages yesterday, I’m reading yesterday’s passages today.

Strange Names

There are a lot of names in Genesis 36 because the chapter lists the descendants of my new hero Esau.

I am really wondering who came up with all these strange, hard to pronounce names. Even if I imagine them with a Hebrew accent, they still sound weird. Frankly, it makes Bible reading out loud a bit intimidating.

Edom, located in modern day Israel, Jordan, and Egypt

My personal favorite is Oholibama. I’ve loved that name for years since I first read it. Turns out, this was Esau’s third wife (no apparent relation to Obama).

I also found it interesting that Edom (the land Esau’s clan inhabited and named) was ruled by kings before the nation Israel decided it needed a king. That fact suggests to me that Esau’s descendants did not consider God their king the way Israel did.

The first King of Edom was Bela, son of Beor. Since there is no Beor in Esau’s family tree, I wonder if they imported their first King? Seems like they imported King #3, Husham, from the Temanites.

I usually skim the lists, but it’s sometimes interesting to study them a bit.

Sometimes.

Trustworthy Name

One verse from today’s reading touched my heart:

Those who know your name trust in you,
for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you. (Psalm 9:10 NIV)

Part of the reason I am blogging my devotions is so that I can be faithful to stay in the Bible as I seek a deeper relationship with Jesus. So this verse really encouraged me.

He will never forsake me.

There were times I thought he had hung up. But he must have stayed on the line.

He was just really quiet.

[Wow. Two days in a row I was wrote about Psalm 9. I must like this Psalm.]

Readings: Genesis 35:1-36:43, Psalm 9:7-10, Proverbs 3:27-30, Matthew 12:22-50 See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

One thought on “Day 19 – What’s in a Name?

Leave a Reply

