Day 18 – He Won’t Forget the Afflicted!

So, this morning, about 6 hours after I fell alseep, someone taps me on the shoulder and says, “The toilet is filling with water and [sister] is trying to use that stick thing.”

That stick thing would be the plunger and that was my wake up call today, my plans for a bit more sleep dismantled as fast as you can say jump out of bed and run down the hall.

All that to say, in my sleep deprived state, I managed to read tomorrow’s readings today. And I just about got the rest of the day handled with little brainpower left over for blogging.

Moreover, I am so familiar with the Genesis readings (my hero Joseph – now this was a descendant of Abraham to extol, once suffering matured him) and the Matthew readings (the four soils, etc.), that I don’t think I could come up with something new right now if I had slept.

So I’ll mention a couple things from Psalm 9.

I like this verse:

…[God] does not ignore the cries of the afflicted. (vs. 12b, NIV)

and this one:

 But God will never forget the needy;
the hope of the afflicted [elsewhere: “poor”] will never perish. (vs. 18, NIV)

That’s all.

At least I read the passages (the wrong passages!) and tried to meditate on them.

And that’s the purpose of this blog.

Readings: Genesis 37:1-38:30, Psalm 9:11-20, Proverbs 3:21-35, Matthew 13:1-30  See About for what I’m up to with these daily posts.

One thought on “Day 18 – He Won’t Forget the Afflicted!

Leave a Reply

