Day 13 – Harassed and Helpless

The passage that jumped out to me most today was Matthew 9:36

 When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.

I go to a rather large and affluent church. It can be intimating looking out over all these put-together folks during service.

Walking down the halls,  it seems that the only people greeting each other have been friends forever (and sometimes I don’t recognize a soul). And everyone is dressed to the nines. Well, almost.

Sometimes when I look over the congregation, I have to remember, “Harassed and helpless.”

Jesus looked out over crowds and had compassion on them. On me.

No matter how pretty the sheep look, we are all still sheep. We desperately need someone to protect us, guide us, bind up our wounds, feed us, care for us… show compassion on us.

Not just me. Everyone out there who seems so together.

When I look out over the crowd and remember this, I am not so intimidated. And I want to have His compassion on them.

When I read this passage, I sense Jesus’ compassion towards me. I want to walk in that compassion after I read the passage, too.

Lord, can you make it more real to me? Can you help me to sense your compassion toward me, protecting, guiding, binding, feeding and caring for me? Amen.

Now, a comment on the Genesis passage:

Like Father, Like Son

Talk about sins being passed on. Now it’s Isaac who passes Rebekah off as his sister to protect himself (Genesis 25: 6-11). Just like Daddy did with Mommy: twice.

What I found interesting is that just before this scenario, God repeats to Issac the covenant promise He made with Abraham, saying that the Patriarch “obeyed me and did everything I required of him, keeping my commands, my decrees and my instructions.” (Genesis 25:5).

When Abraham was younger (between 75 and 99 or so), he wasn’t too faithful (as I discussed here and here and here). But he died when he was 175 years old, which means he had well more than half his adult life to mature.

That’s good news for me: I have years to go, so hope to grow!!

Readings: Genesis 25:1-26:35, Psalm 7:6-9, Proverbs 3: 9-10, Matthew 9:18-38

One thought on “Day 13 – Harassed and Helpless

Leave a Reply

