Day 5 – Stuff I Don’t Want to Hear, But Probably Need To

Today’s Reading: Genesis 9:1-10:32, Psalm 3:5-8, Proverbs 1:24-27, Matthew 5: 1-26

A friend of mine asked how I found time to write these long posts. And I wonder how anyone will find time to read them! There will be days, I am sure, where I have much less to say. Or less time to say it. Like today.

Today was a day of conviction. Or shall I say re-conviction. Things I don’t want to hear because I feel pretty helpless to change. So, “hear” goes…

In today’s passage, Matthew recounts Jesus preaching this (5:14-16):

You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.  Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.  In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Frankly, I would have to think long and hard to remember anyone telling me that they saw my good works and glorified God as a result.

Nope: can’t rightly recall that.

Which begs the questions:

1. What must change in my life in order for that to happen – what light am I hiding?

2. What can I do to change my life in order for that to happen – how do I get the bowl off my head?

Enough of that.

Jesus also said (5:21-22):

You have heard that it was said to the people long ago, ‘You shall not murder,and anyone who murders will be subject to judgment.’ But I tell you that anyone who is angry with a brother or sister [refers to fellow disciple, which would include spouse…] will be subject to judgment. Again, anyone who says to a brother or sister, ‘Raca’ [an Aramaic term of contempt], is answerable to the court. And anyone who says, ‘You fool!’ will be in danger of the fire of hell.

Crap.

Ok, I know that there’s a way that this isn’t quite as bad as it sounds… but, still:

Help.

Amen.

5 thoughts on “Day 5 – Stuff I Don’t Want to Hear, But Probably Need To

  1. What I meant would be: instead of being too conscious about our actions and mistakes, let’s focus on what Christ has done for us and how much He loves us despite of our shortcomings.

    • I think there are times when it’s absolutely ok, even commanded, that we be quite conscious about our sins. Jesus in this very passage says to pluck out our eyes if they cause us to sin. Of course that’s a metaphor, but it also shows how seriously God takes sin.

      On the other hand, yes, we need to not beat ourselves up once we have sinned since Jesus took the beating up Himself. Satan loves that one-two punch: tempt us to sin (it’s ok; God will forgive you), then accuse us after the fact (you sinner: how can God forgive you?).

      I’ve recently been praying to be much more aware of my sin, not necessarily the daily trip-ups (like anger!), but the deep-seated animosity towards God that dwells in my flesh. I think that then I will appreciate the Cross and God’s love evidenced on the Cross much more than I do now. After all, “She who has been forgiven much loves much,” but first she has to know how much she was forgiven, and for that, she needs to know how much she sins.

  2. Hi there, holidaylonging.

    The truth remains. Changing our own life will mean that we are self-sufficient. Rely on God for everything and lean not on your own understanding. I know you know that Proverb. 😉 God bless you!

Leave a Reply

