Day 3 – Two Damp Stories

OK, we are on Day 3 of this experiment. 362 or so days to go. Today was the first day back to work, so I wonder how my daily discovery of Jesus blogging will go now? Check here for why I am doing this…

Today’s reading: Genesis 5:1-6:22, Psalm 2: 7-12, Proverbs 1:10-19, Matthew 3: 1-17

Theologians have pointed out the parallels between Jesus and Noah before, but I got to make these comparisons myself today.

Is it providence or coincidence that my readings included Noah’s flood as well as Jesus’ baptism?

Besides the water themes, there are some other parallels between these accounts:

  • Noah and Jesus both did everything God the Father asked them to do (about the water). Genesis 6: 22 and Matthew 3: 15 attest to the facts:
    • Noah built the ark (despite no apparent need).
    • Jesus had John the Baptist baptize him (despite John’s protestations).
  • And God the Father was pleased with both Noah (Genesis 6: 8) and Jesus (Matthew 3: 16).
  • Noah and Jesus are both contrasted with others
    • The people of Noah’s day were very wicked, “every inclination of …the human heart was only evil all the time,” and violence was everywhere. Contrast that with Noah who was righteous, blameless, and faithful (see Genesis 6: 5, 9, 11 – quote from NIV)
    • John contrasts himself with Jesus as one who is greater, who will baptize with the Holy Spirit and with fire that burns chaff away. But there’s another contrast between Jesus who fully obeys God and the Pharisees and Sadducees, the brood of vipers (I love that phrase!) who rely on their religious heritage (descendants of Abraham) for righteousness, but whose hearts are unrepentant.

Interesting stuff, huh?

Hey, I am pretty good at finding cool things in Scripture and it sometimes moves me greatly to see the care with which God weaves shadows of Christ in history and fulfills prophecies in time.

So, what?

I mean, I am learning more about God (and Jesus), but is this changing my heart and my life?

Well, it’s just Day 3, Holiday Longing, so give yourself a break. Still, I must ask:

  • Where in my life do I rely on my Christian heritage (my past walk with God) over current obedience?
  • In what ways am I pleasing God? Or not?
  • Where could I use some of that fire to burn more chaff away? My flesh is “only evil all the time,” so I obviously need to repent somewhere.  I’ve gotten sort of used to myself – so what sin do I need to see that I can’t see?
  • Finally, I need to go research one other thing that is driving me crazy in today’s reading: Who the heck are the Nephilim? [Comments, please?]

See you tomorrow!

3 thoughts on “Day 3 – Two Damp Stories

  1. As much as I don’t like the idea, the angels-hybrid idea seems best supported.

    The article also mentioned another interesting problem, about Cain’s wife and those he feared would kill him.

  2. I couldn’t wait. Found an interesting discussion here:
    http://www.nwcreation.net/nephilim.html

    Here are the theories (best I can tell):
    They are angels
    They are part angels, part men – hybrids
    They are large guys from tribes near the Dead Sea
    They are other created creatures, not human beings, that no longer exist
    The Sons of God were descendants of faithful Seth (Adam’s effective first born) and the daughters of men were descendants of sinning Cain (Adam’s actual first born). Intermarriage started early! I’ll go with this door, Bob Barker.

Leave a Reply

