The Contradiction of Christmas

Isn’t it amazing that so many people celebrate the birth of Jesus, yet reject Jesus himself? How weird is that? Even those who  accept Jesus might unwittingly reject the Jesus of the Bible:baby-jesus1

·      The Jesus of the Bible was born in a stable, not a 6 BR house with 3.5 baths

·      The Jesus of the Bible rode to his last supper on a donkey, not in a stretch SUV limo.

·      The Jesus of the Bible had no beauty that we should look upon Him, not an Extreme Makeover. 

·      The Jesus of the Bible hung out with the publicans and sinners in a bar, not with the religiousmile-jesus-loves-yously right nor the politically correct in a ballroom.

·      The Jesus of the Bible said “get behind me, Satan” to one of his best friends, not “Smile. Jesus loves you.”

·      The Jesus of the Bible said “My burden is easy and my yoke is light; Take my yoke upon you,” not “You’d better be good; I’m telling you why.”

·      The Jesus of the Bible said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father, but by me,” not “there are many paths to god.”lamb-on-throne1

·      The Jesus of the Bible — for the joy set before Him — endured the cross, suffered the shame, and now sits at the right hand of God the Father.   He is the Word that was with God in the beginning.  He is the Word that is God. In Him and through Him and for Him, all things were made.

What a travesty that you and I should take Him so lightly during the season. What treason.

Oh, Lord, in love you helped the adultress to her feet – after you sent away those who would stone her.  Then you said “Your sins are forgiven. Go and sin no more.”  Please do the same for me.  I commit treason when I take my pain so heavily and your love so lightly.  Help me to sin no more, too.  Amen

[Previously posted a year ago when this was a fledging blog. Reposted with minor edits.]

4 thoughts on “The Contradiction of Christmas

  1. Chris:

    Thanks for your comments above and for your CHRISTmas wishes. I trust that you had a wonderful Christmas and that this year ,for you, and for all of us, allows us to find our way closer to the Holiday at Sea.

  2. TitorTat,

    In your “drive by” I believe you failed to slow down long enough to meditate deeper on my thoughts in their entirety.

    meditate deeper on what it means to celebrate the birth of our Lord & Savior

    As I’ve not found anywhere in the Bible that states that to know the date of Christ’s birth is essential to my salvation, I’d actually put it rather low on the list of things to consider. However, if you know of some Bible verse that says otherwise please feel free to let me know.

    I “celebrate” CHRISTmas, because Jesus Christ, son of God, allowed Himself to be unjustly murdered on my behalf. By rights, I should pay the penalty (Romans 6:23) for my sins against God, but because of the gift of grace, manifested in His Son who was crucified, I have the gift of eternal life (1st Corinthians 15). I received that gift when I accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior.

    Grace and peace be with you.

  3. “L”,

    Firstly, a Merry CHRISTmas to you and the family.

    Thanks for today’s post. I woke this morning feeling a bit out of the “Christmas” spirit, your post however (and a hot shower no doubt) refreshed my mind.

    I appreciated the manner in which you reflected upon several qualities of Christ besides the “nice guy full of love” image that is so easily manufactured in our minds. Your reflection on the “wholeness” of Jesus caused me to reflect and to meditate deeper on what it means to celebrate the birth of our Lord & Savior ie; CHRISTmas.

    Thanks.

    Grace, peace and again a Merry CHRISTmas to you all.

Leave a Reply

