The Job, the Interview, & the Cross

tether-21So, here’s where we are at.

I am pretty much at the end of my tether re my job. I often start the day with “I hate my job.” However, after having read the Bible each AM (a few months ago, after my doubting phase, it was the only thing I knew I needed to do regularly), I pray my way into the office, that somehow I can work “heartily, as unto the Lord,” instead of nastily unto those who drive me crazy. I can’t say I do too well. 

Frankly, I’d love to quit. But I need to wait.

Why? After a year of no nibbles jobwise, my husband is interviewing at several churches. He’s had one onsite interview with another coming up. We’ve bhead-huntereen through this before and been disappointed (often). But I REALLY want him to get a job and move us away. Then I will quit my job and find a new one in a new place. YEA!

But it might not happen that way.

If he doesn’t land one of these positions, it will be really hard on both of us. And I will have to decide if I can manage to stay where I am  jobwise or if I need to move on. I have a headhunter lined up just in case (the dude at right). I think I need to move on, but the thought of being the one who moves us out of here tires me.

Would you pray for us?

In a recent eletter to some friends (having asked for their prayers about these same matters), I said regarding the toughness of our situation: 

I never thought I would get to the point where I questioned my faith, but the ongoing trials got me there (don’t get me going about the last 12 years!). 

What brought me back was the cross. No matter how unloved or forgotten we feel, the cross reminds us that we aren’t. The cross is the only way to interpret crosswhat we see in Christianity around us (not always so lovely, huh?) and even what we read in the Old Testament (not always so lovely, either). 

The cross is the thing that brings into laser-focus what Christianity is about: a God who would suffer and die for me when I least deserved it. 

So, no matter how we feel: unused, unloved, unconnected – we aren’t. He is up to something. Maybe we will never be relieved of this pain here, but no matter what, He is preparing us to more fully worship the Lamb for eternity where all tears and all pain disappear in His presence.

Amen and amen.

Lord: Still, could you miraculously get my husband that job and get us out of this sense of being on hold (five years now!)? Thanks. But I know (though I need to know more) that you do have our best in mind. The cross proves it. Amen.

8 thoughts on “The Job, the Interview, & the Cross

  1. Pingback: Prayer, Please? « Longing for a Holiday at Sea

  2. Thank you for your comment to our website. God has been so good to me at so many crucial times in my life. I forgot who said it, but our times are never all dark nor ever all joyous. So many times its a mix of both, with one or the other predominating. Always, God is at the center, helping, guiding, teaching, loving. Its anxiety that makes us doubt. We don’t see things happening fast enough in the direction that looks best to us. I’m so guilty of that! And He loves me anyway!! I will be praying for you.

    May God touch you today with a special, personal sign of His Presence in your whole situation.

    Blessings,

    Marie

    P.S. I also have an adopted Korean daughter–a young adult now. Her life has been a series of miracles too.

  3. Lord, provide — not only for the jobs, but for peace and faith and assurance of hope.

    And, by the way, I like your morning prayer. I need to use that one when I go to church.

  4. I can’t begin to understand what you and your husband are walking through. Just know that I will be praying. Also know that if I were there, I would give you a hug and take you out for some coffee.

  5. I have a friend John (w/wife and family) who while his circumstances are completely different, is in VERY similiar place spiritually….I scratch my head, and have nothing to say to him (or you) as to what God is up to…I do wish his family (and your’s) 🙂 lived closer to us, I would have you guys over on a regular basis for fellowship, a cup of something hot to drink and visit.

  6. “L”,

    Praying and hoping the best for you and the family concerning this potential new chapter in your lives.

    Yes indeed our Lord is up to something, and it’s all good. 🙂

    Jeremiah 29:11
    11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

    Grace and peace be with you.

Leave a Reply

