Time to Write Another Blog and New Year’s Resolutions

Am I the only one out there who writes a blog and then clicks on Dashboard, Blog Stats? And comes back a while later to check again? And again?

Does anyone else out there take some strange delight seeing just how popular you are?

Here is the sad part — I am supposed to be writing about my spiritual life. If I was a REAL spiritual person, I wouldn’t care what people think about me — measured in the iworld by how many folks click on my blog. But I do care. Am I the only one? I think not.

And here is another sad thing. On Christmas day, I wrote my last entry about the real Jesus and the strange contradiction that so many people celebrate His birthday who don’t really know him. As I was writing, my daughter walked in and I shooed her away: “Mommy’s busy. Please go away.” (and I wasn’t as nice as what I just wrote…)

 Now, how spiritual is THAT??!! Is my blog-writing, no matter how “spiritual” and high minded, more important than my daughter? I think not.

Believe it or not, this leads me to my 2008 New Year’s resolutions. The facts that I care so much about what others think of me (that would be YOU!) and that I often put myself before my children and my husband (though I do put the dogs first) tell me that I still have a long way to go. I have a lot of spiritual forming to do.  And I do plan to put forth more effort towards that end next year.

Spiritual formation is a strange thing. Sometimes I think it is all up to God. Rarely do I think it is all up to me. But I do think I play a part.  To tell you the truth, if I had to give it a percentage, I would say I am 99.9352% where I am spiritually today by God’s grace.

He has given me a hunger for His word, wonderful friends, amazing preachers and teachers, circumstances tough and tender, occasional conviction, and the gift of repentance — all to draw me to Himself. 

Really, I find it hard to take any credit at all for the love HE has placed in my heart for Himself. It truly is a mysterious work of the Holy Spirit.

And He has given me a longing to work harder at the means of grace under my control this coming year. I may not put each detailed resolution out here for everyone in cyberspace and beyond to read, but I do know I want to spend more regular time reading the Bible, more time writing in my journal (my most effective way to pray when alone), and to make a concerted and disciplined effort to better serve my family.

Oh, Lord, please let me know if these are also what you plan for me in 2008. Because if this isn’t from you, I will fail. And help me to succeed. Amen.

10 thoughts on “Time to Write Another Blog and New Year’s Resolutions

  1. I think this is a common issue. We all want to be liked and to be popular, and on the internet that means traffic. And I don’t think there is anything inherently wrong with that.

    It’s just when popularity becomes our motivating factor that it gets dangerous. On days I feel myself wanting to be more popular than focused on God I try really hard to not look at web stats – after all isn’t the reason we write is to help people understand who God is?

    In the end I remind myself of two things: My worth only comes from God, everything else is only temporary. No matter how popular my blog is, one day, it will be gone. Only God is eternal.

    Secondly, sometimes being aware of my temptations is the biggest part of the battle!

  2. Omigosh, I have done EXACTLY THAT! In fact, I was starting to get depressed yesterday because my latest entries hadn’t gotten the attention of my earlier ones. I had to get away to my room and acknowledge my vanity and pride. I was like, “Okay God, I’m writing this blog because You told me to, not to find out how popular it can be.”

    And I’m very much guilty of shooing my children away from me while I’m at the computer. Sigh. I’m embarrassed and sad to admit that.

    Thanks for being honest and allowing me (and others, I see) to openly admit our struggles! Now if we would just do something about it …

  3. You are not alone being obsessed with stats. If you’ll notice, I even have a side bar estimating how much my blog is worth (like I’m ever going to see any of that money).

    You are also not alone in struggling to balance writing time with family time. The difference for me is I can come to my office at church and not be continually reminded that I have little ones who would be saying, “Come, Daddy.”

    I guess we do the best we can.

  4. It’s interesting to note that the more you discover about technology, the more you get addicted to what it has to offer you. Sooner or later, you wonder if it’s starting to affect your priorities. Being in the tech field, I feel your sentiments. This reminds me of a line in Ecclesiastes.. For with much wisdom comes much sorrow; the more knowledge, the more grief.

    I agree. One consolation: it’s better to write and read blogs than to play spider solitaire!

  5. You know it – and I can’t imagine a writer who wouldn’t want to know their stats. Though sometimes I have to wonder; are they a blessing or a curse? Anyway, this was a great post and a good reminder that God is never done with any of us. I remember I had a Pastor once who’s New Year’s Resolution was to never grow stagnant but at the end of the year to be able to see and measure his spiritual growth in his walk with the Lord. I always thought that was a good one.

    Many blessings to you and your family in the coming new year Lorraine! God Bless! ~Jen

  6. You’re not the only one who loves “stats”. My blog readership has been slow and steadily rising. I suspect if I were a little more creative in my titles that might help. On two occassions I did change the title after it was posted and the number of hits skyrocketed w/ just a different title. At the end of the day, I still see my blogs as vehicles of ministry pure and simple. Some of this stuff may still be on the internet long after we’re gone..you never know.
    On a different note, I tried to “click” hermipowell’s name as well as load her blog address into my search ll2f.wordpress.com. and it wouldn’t take me to her blog. It may need a little more computer internet address information… I’m somewhat computer “challenged” so that doesn’t surprise me.
    Keep blogging…I’m reading 🙂 DM

    Thanks for the encouragement. Actually, I’ve helped several people figure out how to link their pix to their blogs. It’s hard to find the place to fix that!

  7. I do this sometimes but I don’t see checking stats as a problem. After all, I would not be doing this if I didn’t want an audience so to speak. I like communicating with people and want to share what I feel (and even make people laugh and think). Besides, people learn a lot from blogs. I guess it all depends on motive. With blogging, you could reach people you otherwise would not be able to reach.

  8. I really enjoyed your blog entry. Especially these two parts.

    “Here is the sad part — I am supposed to be writing about my spiritual life. If I was a REAL spiritual person, I wouldn’t care what people think about me — measured in the iworld by how many folks click on my blog. But I do care. Am I the only one? I think not.”
    AND

    “I was writing, my daughter walked in and I shooed her away: “Mommy’s busy. Please go away.” (and I wasn’t as nice as what I just wrote…) Now, how spiritual is THAT??!! Is my blog-writing, no matter how “spiritual” and high minded, more important than my daughter? I think not.”

    IT FEELS SO GOOD TO KNOW THAT I AM NOT ALONE. YOU ARE TELLING THE STORY OF MY LIFE RIGHT THERE FOR THE PAST 2 MONTHS since I started blogging on WordPress. I actually had to shut down and delete a blog I started only 2 months ago after it took off with such popularity upon my dialoguing with atheists in an endeavor to lead some to Christ.
    Anyway, here I am on my knees again, asking like you are for God’s will in my blogging and life going into 08′. Be blessed.

    Also, please check me out at my new site ll2f.wordpress.com. We may share some more in common!
    Live Life to the Fullest!!!!

Leave a Reply

