Getting Ready for Christmas

I left at 9 AM to shop. I returned at 3:45. I am done. I am done in.

(I failed to mention that I had my hair taken care of at the salon in the middle of all this, so I did get to relax…).

I have such mixed feelings about Christmas. 

With shopping, driving, baking, entertaining, hurrying, hurrying, hurrying, packing, travelling, oh, yes, and wrapping… it’s extremely difficult to focus on what it’s all about.

How trite, but… I need to “remember the reason for the season.”

Frankly, I’ve never really found a great way to do that.  Part of the difficulty is that none of the adults in our immediate families – besides my husband – understand our faith. So, we spend this significant holiday surrounded by people with whom we can’t talk about what’s most important to us. We can’t share that part of the spirit of Christmas with them.

 Lest I sound like a whiner, let me tell you a neat thing that my husband does for me each year. He takes our family to visit a very close friend and her family (they live about 4 hours from my in-laws). These friends DO understand our faith.  And that feels more like Christmas, hanging around talking about Jesus.

It doesn’t hurt that they have a beautifully decorated home.

And great food.

And other kids for ours to play with.

When I became a believer, something happened in my soul. I can’t explain it, but I knew HE was there.  Maybe people of other faiths experience something similar, but I have never spoken to anyone who has.

One of the magical things about being friends with other Christians, is that you sometimes sense HIS presence in another person. Sometimes when you talk with another believer, you feel like something transcendent is happening. Like God is up to something as you talk.

It doesn’t happen all the time, but when it does, you just know Jesus lives.

That’s what I most look forward to this Christmas.

The reminder that He didn’t just come to earth as a baby, but that He lived the perfect life for me, died in my place, and then rose to the right hand of His Father.

I will remember this as I sense His presence in the fellowship of other believers.

Thank you, God, for the amazing gift of Christian soul-mates.  Amen.

4 thoughts on “Getting Ready for Christmas

  1. Wonderful post. It’s nice to see the Holy Spirit part of the trinity celebrated. When I surrendered to Christ in 1996, the most obvious “change” I noticed was the recognition of the Spirit in others. I think that’s part of the gift of discernment.

    Recently I was telling a few friends at work that something had happened to me that made me lose my stage fright. One who was a Christian asked a few minutes later “What happened?” and I answered “I was saved”. Her face lit up and said “Boldness!”. I hadn’t thought of it that way before. Until she said that I hadn’t considered it a big deal. Now I count it as another very valuable gift.

  2. I know your post is about Christmas but what you said here jumped off the page to me:

    “One of the magical things about being friends with other Christians, is that you sometimes sense HIS presence in another person. Sometimes when you talk with another believer, you feel like something transcendent is happening. Like God is up to something as you talk.”

    I’ve been a Christian since 1980, used to experience what you were describing mostly at retreats or occassionally in conversations w/ other believers…this isn’t the place to go into it…but at this point in our lives, I get my thirst for Christian fellowship “quenched” 99.9 % of the time in the little house church we are part of. If you want to hear more about that you can read this :
    http://hearttoheart.wordpress.com/2007/08/26/my-experience-in-a-house-church/

Leave a Reply

