God’s Goal for Believers

A fellow blogger reminded me of one of my favorite quotes from John Piper, which reminded me of something I once wrote about God’s goal for believers. And here is the quote:

God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.

John Piper  (Desiring God)

 

God’s goal in all things is His Glory. He matures us spiritually for His glory. He brings us to repentance for His glory.  Because of who He is, God’s glory must be at the center of all He does. It’s always all about Him. And our greatest satisfaction lies in seeing God’s glory. See John 17:1, 4-5, Ephesians 1:3-14

 

And God really is more interested in us knowing Him and finding delight in Him than in us finding ourselves (Matthew 10:39).  God isn’t a sugar-daddy who’s wringing his hands just waiting for us to turn to Him to fix our lives.  He is the awesome King of the Universe who, through the Cross, made it possible for us to find our lives in the only place we can find them, in knowing Him.

 

All this is true from our perspective, too. The definition of “eternal life” is that we know God, pant for Him, find our satisfaction in Him, delight in Him, receive our greatest joy in Him — not in His blessings or even His felt presence — but simply in who He is.  (Did you ever think that if heaven is defined as being with Jesus, then only those who love Him will really want to be there anyway?).

In fact, knowing God through Jesus is a greater goal than serving God or becoming like Him. These are both means to the end of knowing God. And they are both the results of knowing Him.  See John 17:3, Philippians 3:7-11, 1:21 

 

 In the end, God’s glory and our satisfaction are two sides of the same coin:

We are most satisfied in God when we are most in awe of His glory.

 

(see Paul’s praise in Romans 11:33-36)

4 thoughts on “God’s Goal for Believers

  1. hey thanks for the comments! i really enjoyed this post, i completely agree with you on this, and yes God is the Gospel is a really really really really good book. it definitely convicted me and revamped how i look at Scripture. i’ll be checking back for more posts, thanks again for checking out my blog

  2. Hi, thanks for your greeting. Hmmm…did you mean the best PIPER I’ve read this year, or the best book overall? I think of Piper, my favorite was The Legacy of Sovereign Joy, a bio of Augustine, Calvin, and Luther. The best book was probably John Owen’s Vol. 4, The Work of the Spirit. But if you haven’t read Owen, I think by far the best volume to start with is Vol. 6, Sin and Temptation. John Owen is my therapist. If people think I’m whacked, I just say, “Don’t blame me; my therapist died in 1683.” But I get so little sympathy.

    I just got Lorraine Boettner’s The Reformed Doctrine of Predestination from a friend who could not think I would wait till Christmas to open it. I cannot wait to begin it…but I’m immersed in Gordon Clark’s Ephesians!

    Machen’s God Transcendent is probably a very good candidate for book of the year, too.

    And I’m trying to knit a sweater…with sleeves!

    Cheers!

  3. Matthew 15:36Then he took the seven loaves and the fish, and when he had given thanks, he broke them and gave them to the disciples, and they in turn to the people. 37They all ate and were satisfied.

    Once I began to take Piper’s statement to heart, I started to see satisfaction as more and more important. Thinking about fishes and loaves, I began to see the satisfaction of the people as the great miracle. We don’t know how big those tuna sandwiches were. They might have been subs or crumbs … and the people were satisfied.

    And I’ve also thought about God’s kindness to those who don’t wish to be with him. He lets them stay away. (I say this somewhat tongue in cheek. I really don’t think I can fathom God’s “reasoning”.)

  4. Hey Lorraine,
    This is so true. I was thinking just today of the verse, “seek ye first the kingdom of God and all these things shall be added unto you.” That God should be our pursuit above all else – to make Him first, in desiring to know Him. I think then when we realize He is more precious, worth far more than any other earthly pursuit then we realize – nothing else will satisfy but Him.

    Anyway, just wanted to say hi and got your email. I’ve been meaning to get back to you and plan to here shortly – I’ve just been really busy with the holidays. Well, God bless and enjoyed this post! ~Jen

Leave a Reply

